Frozen Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2003, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Question Frozen Screen

I am using Windows XP Pro. Recently, my screen freezes and cannot move anything, mouse, keys, etc. I must shut down without going through the regular steps and then reboot. This happens frequently. I would appreciate any help, this is driving me crazy! Many thanks!
__________________

Jessma is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Hopefully, this is what you mean.

IBM Intel Pentium 3
American Megatrends Inc. IBM Bios 460024i 1.04
256 RAM
Windows XP Pro
IE 6 SP 1
__________________

Jessma is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Make: IBM
Model: 2276

Yes, I did install the SP-1 and that was a while ago. I think I'm getting lost with your questions, forgive me.
Jessma is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

It is a 2276, I don't know about Netvista. Yes is ran perfectly after the XP was installed. It freezes anywhere, anytime without warning. Just remembered, I did install Ad-aware 6.0 a few mos ago, if that matters. Thanks.
Jessma is offline  
Old 06-01-2003, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I originally had Windows ME then I bought XP Pro. It is a Net Vista. The Computer store installed XP Pro for me about a year ago. In any case, I sincerely appreciate your help and your time. Thanks again.
Jessma is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Default

I've *just* spent 3 days working on a friends NetVista 2276 with *exactly* the same problem... I tried the latest drivers for the CD drives, video... even force-flashed the BIOS upgrade from the IBM support page (2270bios.. batch file didn't get past the s/n check).

I finally traced the problem to the onboard video. If you can get XP running enough to set the video card properties - settings - advanced - troubleshooting... scale it ALL the way back to NO hardware accelleration and NO combined writes... reboot and XP should run... When you get brave enuff... try bringing back the video accelleration to one less than where it starts to fail.

good luck!
__________________

Raving is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.