Friggen Server Crashes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Friggen Server Crashes

So I just set up my sever, Windows 2003 Enterprise. During the install, it froze quite a few times but I eventually got through it. Now my problem is, it keeps on crashing after I log in! It's a pain in the ***, because it is my DHCP and I cannot go on the internet when it is not on. Think maybe there is osmething wrong with the drives? I have 4 IDE 60GB drives in Raid 0+1. I also am running an AMD 2100+ with 1GB Kingston ValueRAM (2x512 non dual channel). At idle, it is at 129F. Think that is too hot? I do. I know the RAM has no errors, I ran memtest86 on those sticks for 120hours and nothing. Any suggestions?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Turn off the restart on blue screen option (I'm not sure where this is in server 2003) then see what error is causing the crash.

My guess is something went awry during the install since like you said it locked up many times.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well the thing is it is not restarting, it just crashes and locks up. It sucks because, well, it sucks. My other computer seems to be crashing an awful lot as well, it just got really hot out here, so I'm thinking that maybe they are overheating. How is 129F on an AMD Athalon 2100+?
Him is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Sounds like a crummy windows install, happens with old cd's

Try ripping the CD to your harddrive, and reburn it
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 03:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Thats about 53C which isnt bad at all considering all the stuff you have packed in there. What kind of envi is it? How many users/PC's connecting to the DHCP server. If it is crucial perhaps you can assign the DHCP role to another backup server until you can get this machine sorted out. If the install wouldnt even work correctly than you could almost count on the machine not being stable. Perhaps an issue with the RAID config? Legal copy of 2003 serv right?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Also if it is a smaller network (under 50 users) perhaps you can role out manual IP addresses until you get this server fixed this way they can contact the default gateway and DNS servers and connect to the internet.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Afew thintgs you can try, if it will help.
I had a issue with a mates PC locking up, put some more thermalpaste on the CPU and that helped a bit, he ended upgetting a new CPU heatsink and fan (big arse one) and its ok, another thing you can try is disable onboard sound and any other cards you have and see if that helps.
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It is a legal copy.

It is a very small network, no more than 5 users. I have a router acting as the DHCP, but in order to get things working right we had to config the server as the dhcp and turn it off on the router. Right now I'm back to using the router as my dhcp.

I have boiled it down to it being just too damn hot. It was absolutely miserable the other night, and the computer that I have right next to it (Intel 2.4 Watercooled) kept crashing because of the heat as well. I bought this server from a friend of mine who has two machine almost exactly the same, mine being one of them. He kept having problems with his machine overheating, on the hottest days of the year, and threw an Asus big fan on there and it solved the whole crisis. I had words with him, and he is going to grab me one of those, and hopefull that will work. I'm also going to try a new install, and use Chris's idea of ripping it to the hdd and reburning it.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.