Friends new computer problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2007, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Friends new computer problem

hello there, my friend purchased a computer from Ibuypower a month ago or something and he called me yesterday to say that he gets the "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage..."

I told him the best way to get rid of it if he cant start up windows is re-install Windows XP pro with the windows CD I gave him for the computer. So I was telling him over the phone how to load up the install setup and he says he got to the part where Windows was in "setup" and loading all of the drivers such as the plug n play drivers and serial bus. He then says half way through that process he gets the SAME error that he gets previously. I have never seen this happen and I don't understand how running from a Windows CD that he can possible have this error. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do?
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 08:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Friends new computer problem

Download windows memory dignostic Microsoft Online Crash Analysis

There is instructions on the page on how to burn it to cd & run the test
Its bootable so aftar u burn it to a cd put the cd in the drive & restart your pc & if your bios is set correct it should boot of the cd & run the test i would run it for about 2 hours if it finds a problem & you have 2 sticks of ram remove 1 & run the test again if it finds a problem again put the stick you pulled out back In & remove the other stick & run the test again

Post back on how you go aftar doing this,
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Friends new computer problem

Download windows memory diagnostic Microsoft Online Crash Analysis
There is instructions on the page on how to burn it to cd & run the test
Its bootable so aftar u burn it to a cd put the cd in the drive & restart your pc & if your bios is set correct it should boot of the cd & run the test i would run it for about 2 hours if it finds a problem & you have 2 sticks of ram remove 1 & run the test again if it finds a problem again put the stick you pulled out back In & remove the other stick & run the test again

Post back on how you go aftar doing this,

Sorry for double post the first post i forgot to put the link in :P & i thought i hit edit but i hit reply
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Friends new computer problem

So your suggesting his RAM is bad and has errors then?
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 03:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Friends new computer problem

Yes run a test for about 2 hours
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 04:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 24
Default Re: Friends new computer problem

Sounds like a hardware fault.
Gillywibble is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Friends new computer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillywibble View Post
Sounds like a hardware fault.
Start with the little things first before you go out & by new hardware
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer problem ankit3000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-06-2007 04:42 PM
what computer god thinks that they can solve this problem?? wazzahelpme New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-28-2007 09:42 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
Problem with my hardware responding to my computer. Carl133 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-23-2007 09:21 PM
Very strange computer problem fangs2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-20-2007 09:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.