fresh copy of XP runs slow? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2008, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to danny501
Default fresh copy of XP runs slow?

this is kind of hard to explain but ill do my best.

i installed a fresh copy of windows xp with sp2 built into it on a machine. this machine previously had xp media center edition 2005 on it. it ran fast with no problems when it was new. i had to reformat due to a bunch of really bad viruses but nonetheless, xp pro is running fine with one exception....when you try to drag a window across the screen, like the my computer folder for example, it "skips" along the screen. it doesnt move as fast like my other machines do. also you notice it when the welcome screen is loading....the waves dont flow nicely, they skip. almost like something is slowing the computer down. it doesnt make any sense though, because this is a brand new install of windows. theres nothing on it to slow it down and no viruses because it hasnt even been hooked up to the internet yet. i cant make any sense of this and i was hoping that you guys could help me out. thanks.
__________________

danny501 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: fresh copy of XP runs slow?

That because there is no video drivers. The XP is using default drivers and it skips when you drag or scroll.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: fresh copy of XP runs slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
That because there is no video drivers. The XP is using default drivers and it skips when you drag or scroll.
Like peter said, it's video drivers. Install them, and that should stop.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to danny501
Default Re: fresh copy of XP runs slow?

you guys were right....everything is good now. thanks.
danny501 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: fresh copy of XP runs slow?

No problem.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: fresh copy of XP runs slow?

No problem.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 computers connected to same router, however 1 is abnormally slow... ac26xp Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 02-02-2008 06:55 PM
Copy a User account? kizzeith Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-19-2008 12:35 PM
Internet running slow on one computer onizzy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 08-14-2007 02:12 AM
Why is IE 7 so slow? How to fix IE7? Speed it Up Larry Internet Software and Browsers 24 06-06-2007 02:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.