Freezing up on start up! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Question Freezing up on start up!

I just installed a NEW 60GB Hard Drive in my Sony Vaio Laptop
Installed all new O/S & software and now when I turn it on to boot up
it's freezing up at the windows xp logo screen with the little blue bar going across at the bottom. I can boot into safe mode though. I just ran a complete virus scan in safe mode and it found nothing!
Can someone please help me!?? Ready to pull my hair out!

Thanks,

Rob
__________________

robqx4 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

when you are in safemode, go to start, run, type msconfig, go to boot.ini and clck on check all boot paths and if there is an invalid entry, click ok to remove it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Thxs 4 the quick reply warez monster!
I did what you suggested and it says "It appears that all BOOT.INI lines for Microsoft operating systems are OK."

What now??
robqx4 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what about last known good configuration?


Did you do anything else to it after you installed the hdd?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Try last known config....didn't work either.

No I didn't do anything to this except shut it down for
2 days after I re-installed everything and when I booted it up today I got this freezing problem.
robqx4 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.