Freezing problem in Windows XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2004, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default Freezing problem in Windows XP Pro

First of all hi guys, I am a n00b here

Here is my problem. I have windows XP Pro and if I leave it for say 20 minutes some of the time when I get back it will be all weird and either nothing happens when you right-click or click on an icon, or the cursor/icons dissappear, or the screensaver freezes up, or the mouse cursor is really jerky and laggy and I can't click on anything. This happens whether the computer is on screensaver or on the desktop or locked.

The problem occurs less frequently when msn messenger is closed, and happens a lot when bittorrent is open as well.

Obviously this is a big problem when I am trying to download things as I cannot leave the computer

my power saving is set to monitor off after 20 minutes, hard disc off after 2 hours (but the problem happens long before this) and hibernate off

I wonder if anyone can shed any light on this?

Thanks guys!
__________________

MrBleeble is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via Yahoo to qt 3.14159
Default

Have you checked your CPU temperature? I know there are programs that can monitor it, but the easiest way I've found is to enter the bios immediately after a crash and click on the PC Health tab. (This is available in most current bios versions I think) It should list the CPU and System temperatures there.

I've heard somewhere (while lurking on forums) that AMD processors are really bad about overheating when left idle.... not sure if it's true, but it could be...
__________________

qt 3.14159 is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I would also look into the the heat issue .. it could be one of the reasons .. as an immediate solution .. you could try leaving your case side panels open.

Also some bittorrent clients tend to load the cpu .. Try changing your bittorrent client.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 01:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I have a P4 2.53GHz, which I have never seen over 45 degrees even after long periods of the latest games....

It is not exclusive to bittorrent

I have checked the CPU heat after these freezes and it has been usually somewhere around 36-40 degrees, so there is no way it is heat related, but thanks for the help so far guys
MrBleeble is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 01:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

In that case .. my next suspect would be the display card.
Check temps on the display card.

Also post a log from Hijack this or something like that.

*edit* List ur sys config
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I don't mean to be a **** or anything but we are talking about after leaving the system idle....

if my display card can handle doom 3 for 2 hours then I don't think leaving the computer idle for an hour is going to make it overheat....

thanks for the suggestion though....

I can use the computer for 10 hours straight without a single crash, but as soon as I leave it idle for 20 minutes it could do this....

list my sys config - what do you mean by this? specs? or something else?

specs - P4 2.53GHz, 512MB PC2100, Radeon 8500, Maxtor 60GB HD, WinXP Pro SP2
MrBleeble is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Also I left it running for an hour or so in memtest86 and it gave me 5 passes with no errors so it's not something to do with the RAM I guess....
MrBleeble is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Well .. firstly .. U need to understand that ... people on the forum are not aware if or not ur system can handle doom3 for 2 hrs ...

Try n' understand that most of the trouble shooting done here is based on the info provided in the post.

N' yes i meant specs.

What are the power management settings in the BIOS??
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Hijackthis log:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 19:19:34, on 24/09/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
D:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
D:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
D:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
D:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
D:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Mouse\point32.exe
D:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
D:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
D:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
D:\ht\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: wharederer.Class1 - {D7D7004C-A763-4F8C-B0D4-55A7E017E69D} - D:\WINDOWS\newones.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "D:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] D:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] D:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "D:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download with GetRight - D:\Program Files\GetRight\GRdownload.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://D:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Open with GetRight Browser - D:\Program Files\GetRight\GRbrowse.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - D:\WINDOWS\System32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - D:\WINDOWS\System32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - D:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\yhexbmes0521.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - D:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\yhexbmes0521.dll
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - D:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - D:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - D:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O12 - Plugin for .UVR: D:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPUPano.dll
O16 - DPF: axscanner - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/axscanner.cab
O16 - DPF: axscannerruntime - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/axscannerruntime.cab
O16 - DPF: mscomctl - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/mscomctl.cab
O16 - DPF: msvcp71 - http://download.pestpatrol.com/Downl...ts/msvcp71.cab
O16 - DPF: msvcr71 - http://download.pestpatrol.com/Downl...ts/msvcr71.cab
O16 - DPF: ppctlcab - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/ppctlcab.cab
O16 - DPF: {4C39376E-FA9D-4349-BACC-D305C1750EF3} (EPUImageControl Class) - http://tools.ebayimg.com/eps/wl/acti..._v1-0-3-12.cab
O16 - DPF: {B9191F79-5613-4C76-AA2A-398534BB8999} (YAddBook Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yaho...tocomplete.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{C52C48BF-8A42-4170-9868-CA9124261116}: NameServer = 212.67.120.148 212.67.96.129

I'll check the BIOS thingy now
MrBleeble is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Power management settings in BIOS:

ACPI Suspend type [S1(POS)]
Soft-Off by PWR Button[(Instant-Off)]
PME Event Wakeup/Modem RingOn/WakeuponLAN [Disabled]
Power on by mouse [Disabled]
Power on by keyboard [Disabled]
AC Back function [Soft-Off]
__________________

MrBleeble is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.