Freezes on me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2004, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default Freezes on me

my computer keeps freezin on me whenever its put under load although sometimes randomly aswell. I can play UT2003 for about 2 mins and the comp will just freeze and nothin responds not even trustworthy ctrl+alt+del. It will sometimes do this when downloading or playin music. I have downloaded latest vid drivers and nforce2sys drivers. My CPU temp is running about 49C idle. I am getting a new cooler to lower this though.

It is driving me insane cos i cant play any games.

Any help on what to try will be very gratefully recieved.

Xp2100+ AMD
512MB pc2100
Radeon 9700pro
Samsung 80Gb HD

AGP set to 1.7volts
Fast write disabled
AGP set to 8x

chalky is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 17

interesting. you don't mention wether the problem started after either a hardware / software change. have you added any hardware such as the video card recently? or maybe upgraded or tried to remove the memory? and what operating system do you use?

bazzas100 is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 08:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33

This all happened after motherboard upgrade. Sorry forgot to say, i upgraded the motherboard. Then did a format of c drive to wipe all old drivers and reinstalled windows XP Pro. I think i may have solved it slightly as i reduced the CPU clock FSB to 100Mhz instead of 133Mhz and disabled fast write on AGP. It seems to have stablized my OS but will this FSB change seriously slow my comp?

Thanks for reply
chalky is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

It will slow you computer but not so bad that you cant live with it.
49c is quite hot for idle mine runs at 39c when im working with it. I have a 2600+ AMD but check your temp after it crashes when playing ut and see what it is.I also play ut2003 and it cranks up the heat about 10c more. Have you put thermal paste on your chip.Artic silver is the best for cooling.Later Pat S
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 02:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872

Hmmm .. Chalky

Ur running a 2100+ which effectively runs at 1733Mhz ..This would mean ur settings need to be 133*13 = 1733MHz

Having said this .. if u run it at 100Mhz FSB ..then it would mean running it at 100*13 = 1300Mhz which is like running a 1500+ Processor... So there's definately a performance cut ..

My suggestions ...
Run the processor at 133*13 .. it should be fine ..
Check the voltage ur running the processor at .. it should be1.75v

I don't think ur temperature's too high .. 'coz the 2100+ runs at a little higher temp anywayz .. it's die temp is 'bout 90ÂșC

Also check if ur AGP's Fan's are working properly ..
N' finally what's the temp ur CPU runs at during the game??
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 02:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33

thanks for info preet and splat. when game crashes it is usually about 51C in bios. I have ordered some arctic silver 5 thermal paste so when i get that i will let you know what temps are like. i cleaned up cables inside too and that seems to have helped it cool down abit. will try running it at 133 Mhz FSB clock and see if it crashes again.

Thanks for help so far

chalky is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 11:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500


did you happen to play around with the timings of the ram?

I have an AMD 1700 o/c'd to run at the equivalent of P4 2.2

FSB and Voltage tweaks were great,, but when I set my Ram timing incorrectly,, my system would lock up ,,, first it would not boot at all,, then it was jittery,, then found the sweetspot, and all is well

Check your memory timings on the MB as well,, If your ram is lower grade,, your issue may lie there,,

Difficulty with this issue,, It points to MANY causes for the similar effect,,

good luck, Be Patient ,, knock one issue off at a time,,


Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.