Free memory test software? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default Free memory test software?

I have a problem with one of my programs crashing and it's been suggested to me that I should do a check to see if there is anything wrong with my systems memory that could be causing it. Can anybody point me in the direction of a free program that can do this kind of test? Many thanks in advance.
__________________

Humbucker is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

memtest86

www.memtest86.com
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default

Thanks dumdum, it looks a little complicated but I'll give it a go.
Humbucker is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
I use that simple and to the point.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 10:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

the memtest is just a bootable floppy (and i think CD if you like) You just run the program and it installs it on a floppy and then you restart and let the computer come up on floppy. It runs the test on its own...

If you have more than one stick of memory I would recommend taking all but one out and then testing overnight and doing it again with all the sticks until you find the bad one(s).

The two files that you can d/l are memtest86-3.2.iso.zip for CD or memt32.zip for floppy.

For the CD file just extract and burn the ISO to a CD with your favorite buring software.

For the Floppy file extract all the files to a temp directory and run the install.bat file and then follow the instructions.

Hope that helps a little.

-Aaron
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.