Found this in my Font folder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2004, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default Found this in my Font folder

I went to save some fonts to my Font folder and when I opened it this is what I found:
$NtUninstallKB824141$

as well as a bunch of others all similiar and taking up a lot o=f space. Does this mean anything to anyone, if it is something I need to get rid of I need to know, never saw this before, and they were all hyperlinks.


Thanks in advance,


Cindy
__________________

__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

Never seen/heard of em but I would avoid clicking em if I were you.

Do you have any antivirus software? If so I recommend you update and scan.

If you dont have one a free one can be found here.

If that doesnt catch anything it may be spyware/adware. Try running Spybot Seach & Destroy (can be found thru google) and Ad-Aware 6 (same).
__________________

__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I've never seen such files in the fonts folder ... i would hafta agree with sharpnill on this one ..Run an AV scan

Just another thing ... Such folders are created in the windows folder when u install windows update
Just make sure ..u didn't accidently move 'em in the fonts folder
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Thanks Shrapnill I will check those programs out, I haven't and WILL not click on them .....I seem to have more problems then I need on here and this is XP I bet there is some type of adware Junk on here.,
\
Thanks so much for the advice.

Cindy
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Thanks Preet2U I haven't installed any new updates yet so I don;t think it's that, but I do get a ton of errors from IE6, I mean I will be in the middle of typing and it will open up then XP gives me an error message, I wonder if IE6 can be unistalled then put back????? without doing any harm.
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 12:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

isnt that a backup file from a service pack installation? on 2k, i get the same file, but it is just backing up my crucial system files in case an uninstall of the service pack is required.
sunsider is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

olrite ...this is a common virus ..i'm sorry ..but i can't recall it's name rite now ..it crashs IE when u start typing a webaddress...n' pops up an send report dialogue box ....

Just update ur virus defs... n' scan the machine for viruses
i don't think u'll hafta reinstall IE after that
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.