Formatting with Win XP Pro SP1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2005, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default Formatting with Win XP Pro SP1

I am trying to format with an XP disk. My girlfriend was running win2k, and she got win xp sp2 from her school. I D/Led it and made it into an ISO, and booted from the disk during start up and started formatting. Then I pulled out my XP cd to do mine. I am already running XP Pro, off the same install CD. I restarted, booted from the CD and it just loaded Windows. I even tried using the cd I made for her to use and it still goes into windows. I know I am missing something stupid here, but can someone clue me in? How do I get it to run to the setup menu at startup so I can wipe my HDD then install XP?
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

you need to set your bios to try to boot to the cd drive before the hard drive. When you first turn on your machine, you should see something that says press X for setup; x could be delete or F2 or whatever key. Then look in CMOS setup for boot order and set cd higher than Hard drive. Save your changes and reboot with the cd in. You'll have to press any key to boot to the cd when it says so.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Guess I should have made this clearer, but I have. It boots from the CD first, and I hit space or whatever, just jumps to windows.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You get the message "push any key to boot from CD........." ?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 04:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Yes.

But, I got it figured out. For some reason, my USB gaming keyboard was not responding at that time in the boot process, making it impossible to "hit any key."
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.