Formatting Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2005, 10:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default Formatting Question

I want to know how do you make your HDD fresh
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

download powermax
www.bootdisks.com should be there if not post back and ill find it for you. then just BACK UP EVERYTHING U WANT if u put it on a hard drive take it out after. only have the hard drive u watn to format in. then after u d/l it.. put in a floppy u dont need, open it up run it
reboot with the floppy in ur hard drive and begin ur format
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

i just want a fresh windows xp and lol that looks and sounds complicated lol
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

for a fresh install of windows xp.

get your windows xp CD and boot from it (you may need 2 set this is the bios) then just follow the steps and format your hardrive.

back up your stuff first
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

wow i dont have windows xp cd lol and what stuff do i need to back up i have mostly garbage
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

http://downloads.maxtor.com/_files/m...s/powermax.exe

it is more complicated.. here is an easier way ok? this isn't the best to me but it works i guess...
boot up and hit del as it boots, ull get a blue screen. go to advanced bios and set it so ur first boot device is cd, ur second is hdd 0. reboot with the cd in
itll say press any button to boot from cd, hit a button. then let it load. now when u do this just follow the guide think u hit enter then it says to install windows blah blah blah. anyhow itll ask how to format i dont pick the one that says quick way... but u can if u like. then just let it do its business and all should be done. make sure u have a cdkey and directions rdy! lol this way shoulnd't be so hard or complex.. if it is ill try to write it again i guess lol
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xAznPrid3x
wow i dont have windows xp cd lol and what stuff do i need to back up i have mostly garbage
What do you plan on using to install XP then, manufacturer restore disc?
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

back up files you want for me it would be my music and school work.

if you dont hav a XP cd i dont no wat you can do
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 03:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

nvm my uncles letting me use his
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 03:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

so how would it work when your logged in i just place the cd in and thats it????
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.