Formatting NTFS from DOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 153
Send a message via ICQ to belveder Send a message via Yahoo to belveder
Default Formatting NTFS from DOS

Hi, can someone please tell me a way of formatting my C partition (NTFS) that I have XP Pro on from DOS. I have noticed that using the XP disk doesn't do a thorough job and sometimes leaves bugs behind that caused the format in the first place.

I have tried using the Partition Magic floppy disk method but it didn't work, it took about 10 seconds to format the 20 gigs which just isn't right.

Any advice appreciated

Thankyou
__________________

belveder is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

10 seconds is normal.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

powermax 4.0 from maxtor website. It let you do a low level or high level format

or you can do a secure delete with PM. it wipe it 10 different ways, so no data is recoverable

here
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can also do a low level format from your BIOS.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you can? How do you do that?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Most BIOS have an option to do that, even my 6year old BIOS has it. Enter BIOS settings and there should be a menu item "low level format"
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Most BIOS have an option to do that, even my 6year old BIOS has it. Enter BIOS settings and there should be a menu item "low level format"
that must be an option for older boards. I have never seen that
EricB is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 153
Send a message via ICQ to belveder Send a message via Yahoo to belveder
Default

The problem is that I don't want to lose the other partitions, only want to format the os one
belveder is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Partition Magic 8.0 Will do it.And save the 2nd partition.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 05:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 153
Send a message via ICQ to belveder Send a message via Yahoo to belveder
Default

Thanks
__________________

belveder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.