Formatting the Active Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2008, 02:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Arkansas
Posts: 19
Default Formatting the Active Hard Drive

I am having trouble formatting my hard drive (C: Partition). I have 3 partitions set up and am trying to format C: only. I had moved something around and the File structure is now jacked up. I need to format C:, which only runs XP. Problem with this is, you can't go to your command prompt and type format after the C: prompt. I need to get to a dos prompt before windows starts, and can't remember how. I have consulted my mobo manual and have halted startup but still can't get to a dos prompt. I also booted from XP CD to do the recovery thing, and that didn't work, then tried doing just a clean install. But the problem now is that the CD says it can't find an active Hard Drive. WHat can go wrong with my computer will go wrong.

I don't have a floppy drive, but do have rewriteable CD's and a flash drive.

I need to know what's the easiest and most efficient way to format the C: partition and redo the whole thing. I do have 2 other Hard drives that are Western DIgital Raptors that I have raided solely for the purpose for having my games on them. I'm sure I'll have to end up reinstalling all my programs on D: and games on G: also since in a perfect world, a PC would actually do something right and now glitch or make me want to throw a $2000 + machine into an oncoming 18 wheeler down Interstate 40.

The scene on Office Space where they take the printer out to the open field and smash it with a baseball bat also comes to mind.

Thanks for any info!
__________________

tallguy22 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 06:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Formatting the Active Hard Drive

Try reconnecting the cable for your drive. Sounds silly, but give it a shot.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 09:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Formatting the Active Hard Drive

Use the GParted liveCD. You boot to it and can do whatever you want to the file systems then since you are not within Windows.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Arkansas
Posts: 19
Default Re: Formatting the Active Hard Drive

That GParted thing seems to be for partitioning. I don't think anything is wrong with my partitions. I'm needing to either reformat, or do something that keeps this "F:/ is not a valid win32 application" from popping up every time i stick a game CD into my CD drive. THis is all games and not all cd's. Music Cd's work, and some other ones that aren't games. Why are just games messing up with this error. I had to have jacked up something that made it do this. Is there some diagnostic tool that will help me with this error message? I don't want to have to format, but I think this is the best thing I can do. Unless all of a sudden my disc drive just doesn't want to install new games. Now, Battlefield 2 is on my computer and it will run that since it is already installed, but not new games that haven't been installed. Thanks in advance.
tallguy22 is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Formatting the Active Hard Drive

GParted is a partition tool but it also formats. Just right click on the drive you want to format and you will see the option there.

Under the Windows Disc Management have you changed any drive letters? Have you uninstalled or moved your XP isntall from one drive or partition to another?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
access notebook external hard drive without formatting snoopyAU Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-31-2007 12:37 AM
Formatting a Hard Drive Shando Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-01-2007 04:50 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.