formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Exclamation formatting

What is better? im building a new computer this week and need to know what way is better..

I’m using my old hard drive and cd ROMs and ram.

Do i reformat the hard drive and install a fresh copy of it?
Do I just use the old hard drive the way it is running now???

Could someone please tell me the benefits of what is better?
__________________

cbrannam is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Backup all you important files from your Windows partition. Un-install graphics card drivers and chipset drivers (if applicable). Hook up the drive to the new comp. Sometimes it works, somtimes it don't.
If it doesn't, you can enter recovery console using the XP install CD and ru chkdsk /p. You can also boot in safe mode (F8 while booting) and see if you can finx something. You can also do a repair install (just install on same partition but withour selecting "format..." during the setup process.

But I recommend a clean format and install because it will be faster and less trouble.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

formatting your machine usually eliminates configuration problems. unfortunately, it also means you lose all your user data and you will have to restore the data after reinstalling the os.
office politics is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

ok what is a better op system to use then.

windows xp pro 32 bit
window 2000 pro

im trying to find windows xp 64 bit
cbrannam is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

XP Pro 32bit.
As far as I know XP Pro 64bit still lacks driver support. I am sure some other members can give some advice on that.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.