Format And Re-install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2008, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default Format And Re-install

My desktop completly crashed, loaded with trojans, and all kinds of irratating crap, called dell they sent me the Windows XP Media center reinstall disk & my drivers disks for a fresh start, I can still get on my computer, however I am wanting to erase my entire C/: drive before I install, pretty much giving it a fresh start again, I have numerous spare drives a 500 gb external a 400 gb internal, and an 80 gb internal which is C/: and the opsystem and programs use, the rest is for muiltimedia, and such. I was just curious as to if I could possibly go in, without booting up, but doing like a dos prompt, and erase the whole C Drive, boot from the reinstall disk, partition it back, and install and do my driver re-install? I just dont want to have all these added files on my media drives if I were to swap em, format, and swap em back, it tends to be a pain...looking for some input or ideas! Thanks
__________________

__________________

~Hit me up on *AIM*drexoyl-*Yahoo*dykzeulb-*MSN*brett_dykzeul Instant Messengers~MidwestCustomz.Net
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Format And Re-install

Download killdisk and put it on a floppy or burn it to CD. Boot to the disk and format the drive. However, if you only have a restore disk, you may need the restore partition left intact.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Format And Re-install

There is also GParted, DBan and a few others that will do it. Along with doing it right from within the XP Disc to format.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default Re: Format And Re-install

Thanks guys, plan on trying to do this as soon as I get home, I am at work now, using a winterm, so nothing can be done here, probably jump on my vaio laptop and burn it, I just want to wipe C:/ all together and start fresh, I have all the drivers on a disc, along with the fresh start copy of XP media center.
__________________

~Hit me up on *AIM*drexoyl-*Yahoo*dykzeulb-*MSN*brett_dykzeul Instant Messengers~MidwestCustomz.Net
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Format And Re-install

Installing Windows XP - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

I wrote that up a while back. It will be exactly the same with MCE as it is with XP. Just a extra step later on when you have to insert the 2nd disc. Unless Dell sent you the MCE DVD.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Format And Re-install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Installing Windows XP - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

I wrote that up a while back. It will be exactly the same with MCE as it is with XP. Just a extra step later on when you have to insert the 2nd disc. Unless Dell sent you the MCE DVD.

yeah dell media center is a dvd. it add a bunch other hidden junk too. somebody on demonoid once posted how to get rid of the extra junk. let me see if I can find it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.