format not supported on drive c: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2004, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default format not supported on drive c:

ive got windows XP and when i use a 98 startup disk to get onto dos, and i type format c: - its sez that format is not supported on drive c:



duz anyone know how to get past this problem...
my hard drive isnt partitioned if that helps?
__________________

Winta is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

use winXP cd to format. your drive c is fat32 or NTFS? you do have at least 1 partition
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default

when i boot from the Xp disk it just goes to set up widows agen on top of the current one, hmm ill jus give it a quick try now.

and i think its NTSF.
Winta is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

You can use the XP disk like ek said, however the reason why you cannot format drive C: with your Win98 boot disk is because you have a NTFS partition that you are trying to format. When you use the 98 boot disk go into "fdisk". Then you have to delete the NTFS partition. You will have to select Delete "Non-DOS" parition. The boot disk will then display the NTFS partition. Then you have to create a primary partition. After you create the FAT32 partition, you have to reboot and then you will be able to use the "format c: /s" command.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you want to use any prt of Windows 98 on it you will need to format to FAT32
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default Re: format not supported on drive c:

Quote:
Originally posted by Winta
ive got windows XP and when i use a 98 startup disk to get onto dos, and i type format c: - its sez that format is not supported on drive c:



duz anyone know how to get past this problem...
my hard drive isnt partitioned if that helps?
If you have a Windows2000 or Windows XP disk you can achieve this. In the BIOS set your PC to boot from the CD-ROM drive first then once it boots into the XP/2K setup select the partition C: then format using NTFS then it will load the needed setup files. I am assuimg this will be the master drive since it has the C: label. If it is a slave you can format within windows.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 61
Default

You have a NTFS filesystem - So you cannot actually format it from the dos prompt. But ofcourse you could simply use the fdisk utility and delete the Non DOS Partition from there....
__________________
;) Don\'t misunderstand its a TOOL which is required to fix up the computer...;)

http://images2.deviantart.com/i/2004...e/Order_63.gif
ScrewDriver is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 03:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default Re: Re: format not supported on drive c:

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
If you have a Windows2000 or Windows XP disk you can achieve this. In the BIOS set your PC to boot from the CD-ROM drive first then once it boots into the XP/2K setup select the partition C: then format using NTFS then it will load the needed setup files. I am assuimg this will be the master drive since it has the C: label. If it is a slave you can format within windows.
this is the way to go,,boot from cd first,if you see a partion,, delete it,let xp create new then you should be allset, if SP1 is not on cd get it you will need it.
__________________

__________________
Square thing
With Lotsa wires & Thingy\'s
ByTeDeMoN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.