Format after ATI to Nvidia - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 05:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default Format after ATI to Nvidia

A friend of mine told me if you are going from ATI to Nvidia you need to format for best performance.

But i dont see how this will work if i uninstall the ATI software from the Control Panel then uninstall the drivers from device manager.

Then i replace the cards, and install the nvidia software.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i have heard this too. i think there could be some truth to it but i'm not sure so i would reformat anyway because a clean install can never hurt unless your hdd is dying. i reformat quite frequently anyway
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

meh

anyone else heard bout this?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

i don't think u need to format, just uninstall the driver for ATI then after u change to nvidia , install the latest driver for it
maroon1 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

This is the truth, you should reinstall windows
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

you don't have to. Download driver cleaner pro. Google to find it. You first uninstall the old drivers then u run driver cleaner pro from Safe mode, then you can install new drivers with the new card already in.

I switched from ATI to Nvidia and I did the same thing. I have had no problems.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

lol, half of the people are saying format, half say dont format. Gargh!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 09:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default

The maing thing you need to do is clear the old video drivers off you HDD before you install the new ones otherwise you will run into problems. People say format because its the best way of ensuring all of the old drivers are gone, but if you can find a program which will remove the drivers then you don't need to format.
PBond is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 09:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PBond
The maing thing you need to do is clear the old video drivers off you HDD before you install the new ones otherwise you will run into problems. People say format because its the best way of ensuring all of the old drivers are gone, but if you can find a program which will remove the drivers then you don't need to format.
Cough Driver Cleaner pro Cough Its free Cough for Download Cough.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

is this the one you are talking about?

http://www.drivercleaner.net/
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.