forgot password for windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default forgot password for windows XP

hey i forgot my password for windows xp and i dont kno what to do

please help
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

boot into safemode, use the non password Admin account and then change the password for your account once you are in. To get into safe mode, press f8 repeatedly as the machine is booting. Needs to be done before you see the Windows splash screen though.
Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i have tried to do that but there was no admin account
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

there has to be. Did you do the install or did it come from an vendor?
Inaris is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i formated my hard drive and reinstalled windows and i tried your safe mode suggestion and usually it does have and admin acount like you said but this time it didnt by reinstallin windows can i create a new account?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

it doesn't take a scientist to figure this one out.....

jcortes previous post
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Mike, are you suggesting that he is trying to hack?
hmmm,
well then, might I suggest a product from Winternals? For $150 you can gain access to almost any machine... but remember it's 150 a machine...
http://www.winternals.com/products/r...02.asp?pid=erd

have fun.
Inaris is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

perhaps....perhaps not...
but either way, winternals is the best solution for this person.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 03:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

actually....on second thought.....
I don't really care if he/she is or isn't. I use this tool all the time and it comes in really handy. I just used it the other day at a Ben & Jerry's because they too forgot their Admin account password.

http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/

Good Luck jcortes!
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

does this work for the admin account or any user account
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.