Forgot how to - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2007, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Forgot how to

Bypass the log in at welcome screen I want to go straight to desktop. I went to user accts tried unchecking boxes no help. I just can't remember what I did a year ago.
__________________

lafguy81 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Forgot how to

copied from the theeldergeek.com


Bypass The Windows XP Log On Screen

To make logon an unattended process:

Click [Start] [Run] and type
control userpasswords2
Click [OK]
The [User Accounts] Property Sheet displays.
On [Users] tab, clear the [Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer] check box.
Click [Apply].
Enter a user name and password that should be used to logon automatically in the dialog box that appears.
Click [OK].
Go to [Control Panel] [User Accounts] [Change the Way Users Log On and Off].
Uncheck [Use the Welcome Screen] and [Use Fast User Switching]

that should do it
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Forgot how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by networkgeek View Post
copied from the theeldergeek.com


Bypass The Windows XP Log On Screen

To make logon an unattended process:

Click [Start] [Run] and type
control userpasswords2
Click [OK]
The [User Accounts] Property Sheet displays.
On [Users] tab, clear the [Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer] check box.
Click [Apply].
Enter a user name and password that should be used to logon automatically in the dialog box that appears.
Click [OK].
Go to [Control Panel] [User Accounts] [Change the Way Users Log On and Off].
Uncheck [Use the Welcome Screen] and [Use Fast User Switching]

that should do it
Thanks so much.
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default Re: Forgot how to

Wow, that works nice.... Thanks from DCC in Wisconsin
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 08:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Forgot how to

Or just have a single account on the computer with no password.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.