force shutdown and ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default force shutdown and ram

Hi, recently i have been force shutdowning my pc because it freezes on me. I know it hurts my RAM but i don't know how to fix the problem. Is there any way to fix the problem to stop my pc from freezing and is there way tor repair my ram? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Chaoticlegend is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: froce shutdown and ram

Does it freeze when you're doing anything in particular?
Did it start after installing something?
__________________

__________________
Tim is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,683
Default Re: froce shutdown and ram

Please try going through our spyware guide:
http://www.techist.com/forums/f51/sp...2009-a-165828/

If you come up clean there, then we can try some other things.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: force shutdown and ram

Well it sometimes freezes when I'm playing a game. I have come up with a few trojans but i have to purchase the produt to clean it up.
__________________
Chaoticlegend is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: force shutdown and ram

Hmm how bad is it? My gf's computer freezes when she gets on the internet and it's sooo slow (they won't let me fix it)

I told her just to reinstall the OS after backing up picture and applications, but I guess that's only needed if it's very bad.

Do you get freezes during anything else? How frequent?
__________________
SuxoR is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,683
Default Re: force shutdown and ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaoticlegend View Post
Well it sometimes freezes when I'm playing a game. I have come up with a few trojans but i have to purchase the produt to clean it up.
You don't have to pay for anything in the guide I linked to. Its all freeware and a few trialware (TrojanRemover I know is trialware, but you have 30 days to use it).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: force shutdown and ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuxoR View Post
Hmm how bad is it? My gf's computer freezes when she gets on the internet and it's sooo slow (they won't let me fix it)

I told her just to reinstall the OS after backing up picture and applications, but I guess that's only needed if it's very bad.

Do you get freezes during anything else? How frequent?
Well it doesn't freeze so frequently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
You don't have to pay for anything in the guide I linked to. Its all freeware and a few trialware (TrojanRemover I know is trialware, but you have 30 days to use it).
Ok, I'll download that and try it out.
__________________

__________________
Chaoticlegend is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Constant SHUTDOWN after 30 seconds JA031 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-03-2009 06:36 PM
Restart followed by perm shutdown.. NeverReality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 02-18-2008 12:58 AM
Random shutdown problems schwarg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2007 04:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.