Folder keeps returning - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 10:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

sorry blitze105 i didnt mean anything by it i just was gettin frustrated as it is annoying me.. tried wat u sed but no luck im sick of it now i think ill do a repair (which u also sed) .. i was gunna end up doin that anywayz but wanted to no if anyone had this prob b4.. thnx all for ur help but looks like this one goes unsolved.. cya, stuart
__________________

BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 11:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

It almsot sounds like a virus.. but im a lil umm not here......
sooo peace :P
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 04:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

hey all just wanted 2 write one last thing.. i fixed it without repairing installation.. i searched in the registry for Administrative Tools and deleted anything that reffered to Desktop\Admin... and so forth and its fixed! i shoulda thort 2 do that from da start.. wel thnx for ya help anywayz .. cheers
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 09:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Have you tried just disabling XP from displaying the Administrative tools folder.

Right click on start -> Properties
Click Customize next to whichever start menu you use

For Default XP Start Menu
1. Click on Advanced Tab
2. Under Start Menu items scroll all the way to the bottom
3. Under System Administrative Tools set the radio button to "Don't display this item"

For Classic Start Menu
1. Under Advanced Start Menu Options, uncheck the "Display Administrative Tools" box

I'm not sure why it would be popping up on your desktop, but see if it works.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BlkShdw88
hey all just wanted 2 write one last thing.. i fixed it without repairing installation.. i searched in the registry for Administrative Tools and deleted anything that reffered to Desktop\Admin... and so forth and its fixed! i shoulda thort 2 do that from da start.. wel thnx for ya help anywayz .. cheers
Umm... i don't suggest just deleting things from your registry.... not the safest thing to do but im glad you fixed it..
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 05:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bla!!
Have you tried just disabling XP from displaying the Administrative tools folder.

Right click on start -> Properties
Click Customize next to whichever start menu you use

For Default XP Start Menu
1. Click on Advanced Tab
2. Under Start Menu items scroll all the way to the bottom
3. Under System Administrative Tools set the radio button to "Don't display this item"

For Classic Start Menu
1. Under Advanced Start Menu Options, uncheck the "Display Administrative Tools" box

I'm not sure why it would be popping up on your desktop, but see if it works.
yeah i had already tried that and didnt do anything becoz it was on desktop not in start menu.. thnx anywayz.. and i only deleted registry files that contained the Desktop/Administrative Tools as a value to fix the prob.. thnx agn cyas
__________________

BlkShdw88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.