a folder cant be delete - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2006, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default a folder cant be delete

Hi,there the past several days ive been trying to figure out how i can delete a certain folder now ive never experience somthing like this has happen before and that when i do try and delete i get a message saying cannot delete zzzzzzzzzzzz access is denied and make sure the disk isnt full isnt write protected and that file is not currently in use so anyone can give me a hand osi can delete that folder it is called cantdeleted i can rename it but just cant move it anywhere else.
__________________

william232 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 04:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

what is the name of the folder?

copy and paste a screenshot of the error message.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

Yep Sure the name of the folder is cantdelete and its got many folders inside of it i cant even move the folders around but heres a screenshot of the error message

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/8...ererror4pv.jpg

Its located there.
Even my friend Justin coudnt figure out why i cant delete the folder
william232 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

have you tried booting into safemode?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

No,how do i start in safe mode because my computer is windows xp media center but ya how will i go cuz i am using xp
william232 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true

To start the computer in safe mode

1.
You should print these instructions before continuing. They will not be available after you shut your computer down in step 2.

2.
Click Start and then click Shut Down.

3.
In the drop-down list of the Shut Down Windows dialog box, click Restart, and then click OK.

4.
As your computer restarts but before Windows launches, press F8.
On a computer that is configured for booting to multiple operating systems, you can press F8 when the boot menu appears.

5.
Use the arrow keys to highlight the appropriate safe mode option, and then press ENTER.

6.
If you have a dual-boot or multiple-boot system, choose the installation that you need to access using the arrow keys, and then press ENTER.
office politics is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.softwarepatch.com/software/moveonboot.html


try that also
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

You should get the Unlocker program, just search for it on google. It will be able to delete the folder.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

try safemode or DOS/Shell
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.