Floppy Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2004, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default Floppy Problem

Can anyone help solve the problem with floppy disk driver..?

When inserted any disk into floppy driver, the information seems to be uploaded into the memory, and when inserted a new disk, the information of the former one is automatically written onto the new one, and the information of the latter one is erased... The process of erasing is not visible..

I would appreciate any advice...

Please do not cross post the same question to other forums. Thank You!===MicroBell
__________________

armion is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default Floppy Problem

Can anyone help solve the problem with floppy disk driver..?

When inserted any disk into floppy driver, the information seems to be uploaded into the memory, and when inserted a new disk, the information of the former one is automatically written onto the new one, and the information of the latter one is erased... The process of erasing is not visible..

I would appreciate any advice...
__________________

armion is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

hmm havent heard of this one. Sounds almost like a virus. You got virus scan?
__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default

No virus is detected.. I have been having the problem for already 6 months.. i don't feel like reinstalling WINDOWS XP...

I have two operating systems... I dont have the said problem when running WIN 98.. the problem persists in WIN XP..

don't know what to do
armion is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Only thing I can think of is a bad floppy drive, switch it with a good one and see if that fixes the problem

Imaxle
Imaxle is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

That does not sound characteristic of a floppy problem
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Ok for get the floppy drivre and get a memory stick :-D
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I am running WIN XP... It is a stadnard floppy drive... I don't have the problem when running WIN 98... I did not get the last posted statement.. " for get the floppy drivre and get a memory stick :-D" ?
__________________

armion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.