floppy a:\, possibly damaged? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default floppy a:\, possibly damaged?

Ok, Im trying to reformat a floppy disk.. I go to reformat it and it sais to insert a disk in the a drive... alright, theres one in there!
so i tried this on 3 other floppys and the same thing... and when i go to the a properties it sais that there is no used space and no free space on the disk.. i went threw dos and tried a:\reformat and it came back with "no valid drive.". then i tried a:\dir and said "unknown sector.". i tried a:\mem and it said "The parameter is incorrect."
Guys, im completly stumped... any suggestions?
__________________

BoobieSrUs is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Try another floppy drive. If that doesn't work, it may be a controller problem.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Got another computer you can take the floppy drive out of for a second?

If not, they're cheap and easy to find.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

yea, i got one in my old emachines .. but its linux based, that shouldnt affect it should it?
BoobieSrUs is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

heres a screen shot of my msdos when i try to access anything in a: ...

And yes there is a floppy in the drive.
BoobieSrUs is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Default

i think its time to invest in a new floppy or better yet just ditch the cursed thing and go with cdrw. or better yet a thumbdrive but if your heartsent on getting a floppy why not get an external usb saves a lot of heart ache. but you could also try cleaning the thing im not to fermiliar with unix so your on your own in that area . hope it goes well
__________________
Live on the edge...

http://images.google.com/images?q=tb.../suse-logo.jpg
jason_daniels is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BoobieSrUs
yea, i got one in my old emachines .. but its linux based, that shouldnt affect it should it?
Not whatsoever.

And, adressing the "ditch the floppy drive" comment, it's always helpful to have one around in case you got some restore disks or are creating a RAID.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just try a floppy drive cleaning diskette if you got one laying around or if you can borrow one
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 01:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
i think its time to invest in a new floppy or better yet just ditch the cursed thing and go with cdrw.
Maybe my logic is flawed, but hey, that's all I got. If you cant repair your current floppy drive by using a new fdd cable, or after cleaning it, don't WASTE money on a new one, and while sony would love everyone to continue using CD's we all know they scratch, break, or just suck. If in worst case scenario you have to buy something look at some zip drives. You can find a 100mb ZIP drive (maybe refurb) for what you'd spend on a new floppy, and zips won't demagnetize and loose info, or get scratched and make you resurface them. Since I got a 750mb zip drive I've had less headaches, and used cd's for nothing more than music. It's far more convenient to edit info than a cd, and when you compare 1.44mb to 100-750mb... do you really need to ponder that? It seems to me that someone had to work really really hard to see the FDD still in use today.

This is of course just my personal opinion, if your differs, you might try to ponder the issue more. j\k

If anything, hope you get that damn a: drive working, good luck.
__________________

icemakr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.