Floppy drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2003, 09:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Floppy drive

I have a silly problem with my floppy drive. When, in format, I try to load MS DOS start-up, at about 80% complete the floppy stalls and a message comes up "An unexpected I/O error has occurred"

And. in another attempt to write to floppy, it reaches 98% and again stalls. I have also checked with Microscope 11u and it comes up with error 1 and will not write to the floppy.

System is Windows XP pro, fully updated, CD-RW, DVD-R, 2x120GB hard drives, AMD 3200x, 512MB PC3200 RAM and, of course, the peculiar floppy which reads fine, but doesn't complete writing.

Is there some setting in config.sys or something else, that I should be chaging?
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 03:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe it's the actual floppy drive's write heads that are the problem
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Thanks, but I have used a cleaning floppy. I also sometimes get a message: Floppy disk controller reported an error that is not recognized by the floppy drive.
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Sounds like the Floppy Drive Crapped out on ya.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

OK. Perhaps replacing it might be an idea.
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Probably nothing cheaper for a PC than a Floppy Drive Good Luck!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I agree, floppies are so freakin' cheap! Install a new floppy drive and see if you find similar problems.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Floppy drive

So far no help. So here is an update of my problem.

In accordance with suggestions above I have replaced the floppy drive with a Sony drive and re-connected as previous OEM setup,

The fault remains precisely the same, so now I have a spare good Teac floppy drive! Send me a £10 note and its yours!

Anyway this is my gripe:

1. In "My Computer/ 3 1/2" Floppy "A"/right click/Format/ Create an MS-DOs startup disk" it runs to about 90% complete then stops with a message "An unexpected I/O error has occurred"

2. Similarly when I tried to install the first of 6 floppies to contain the XPpro Rev1a recovery disks I got a message at 90% complete "Floppy disk controller reported an error that is not recognized by the floppy drive".

Now I have tried the same on two separate hard drives containing the full XP pro SP1a updates and there is no difference.

I also booted from the CD and also got the same result . HELP!
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Try using a USB floppy drive. Sounds like the IO controller for the Floppy drive is bad. Might try replacing the cable first, but if that doesn't work, then I think that is your problem.
Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Floppy drive

I'm bored with having to try another floppy with USB connections when IDE ones don't function. I know they are cheap but it is annoying to have to fork even small sums continually.

There has to be a fix somewhere, perhaps in registry or elsewhere, but I do depend on you experts out there.
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.