Floppy checks........ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2003, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Angry Floppy checks........

I have Windows 98 installed on my machine and tweaked some of its options...after that every time I restart the floppy drive is checked for any media...it also checks for media when the windows explorer or my computer is opened first time...I have checked the setiing in System properties>performance...it is not selected...is there any other setting which can cause this?
__________________

__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

No I checked for seek floppy and it is diabled ...it doesn't check during boot as I said it does when the machine is booted into Windows...during startup(nothing in the startup..unchecked everything from msconfig)...and when the my computer is opened first time after boot...

I used X-Teq Systems 5.7
__________________

__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

I did the reg undo option in the xteq systems but it did not work...maybe the problem is somewhere else..guess I got to reinstall Windows again ..doesn't take much time though ...it is better than figuring out a solution for every problem..

Thanks for the help...
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Default

... if you know the solution it only takes less than a minute

how about checking your anti-virus software?
Dice is offline  
Old 03-27-2003, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

I had checked everything ...as I told verything from the msconfig was removed...when pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del only Explorer was seen..

Anyway I have reinstalled and dont have the problem noe...but if anyone figured out what caused the problem then please let me know...

Thanks
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.