Flash and ActiveX.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2008, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Flash and ActiveX..

Neither seem to be playing their audio properly.

Everything else audio related works fine.

I've tried reinstalling, and updating drivers, but nothing seems to work.

This happened rather suddenly, no idea how or why.

Flash won't play in IE, and FireFox.

Could someone help?
__________________

RisingFalls is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Well ActiveX wouldnt work in Firefox that well. ActiveX is a IE based web option.

Have you cleaned your web cache? In IE go under tools>internet options the option is in there. Firefox it is under the preferences as well.

CCleaner can do it as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well ActiveX wouldnt work in Firefox that well. ActiveX is a IE based web option.

Have you cleaned your web cache? In IE go under tools>internet options the option is in there. Firefox it is under the preferences as well.

CCleaner can do it as well.
Well some programs based on ActiveX aren't playing their sounds as they should as well.

I've tried clearing my cache, nothing happened.
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 03:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Alright, I've tried running CCleaner's registry thing as well.

No changes at all that I see.

I saw a lot of "ActiveX issues" in there, but none Flash related.

I've also tried a system restore.

Now what should I do?
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Is this XP? Have you tried a repair install?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Yes, this is Windows XP.

I'll look for the CD now and tell you how it goes.
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Uh oh. After repairing Windows XP, and getting 3 "Files not found" errors during the installation, I can't get into Windows at all now.

Now how would I get around to finding the files that are missing, presumably driver files so I can get Windows working again

I refuse to reformat Windows unless it's the very very last resort.

Is it possible I can make another installation of Windows and then just use that, delete the old one after moving all my files?
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Yes you can just reload Windows but not under the Windows directory. After that you can import your files and profile as well.

To replace the fiels needed you would have to know which ones errored out when you did the repair so that you can replace them.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

Alright, I've reinstalled Windows to a different directory.

Now how do I import all my settings and files?
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Flash and ActiveX..

How to copy data from a corrupted user profile to a new profile

That will get yout your profile. You should be able to use the File & Settings transfer Wizard to get them as well. You should also be able to view the Windows folder and move them as well. After taking ownership of them of course:

How to take ownership of a file or folder in Windows XP
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.