Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

I am fixing to re-install Windows XP Pro SP2 and i need ALL of my programs (Reason, FL Studio, Cakewalk SONAR, Visual Studio 2008 and a WHOLE bunch more) RE-INSTALLING IS NOT AN OPTION (everything got stolen from me, even my monitor.) So I need some advice on how to go about doing this. I have blank DVD's and CD's so I need to know what to do.
__________________

MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

If you have the installation files for the programs you want to keep, back them up either on cd or portable HDD. I think it will be pretty hard to do without a monitor ... even the format!
__________________

enigm@tic is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Once you reinstall XP you will be working with a totally new riegistry. Every program currently running will also need to see a fresh install. All you can do with blank disks is simply burn files and folders onto them while starting fresh means precisely that.

It's a rough break by any means but new software disks or downloads would be needed to see the same programs go on following a fresh copy of Windows.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by enigm@tic View Post
If you have the installation files for the programs you want to keep, back them up either on cd or portable HDD. I think it will be pretty hard to do without a monitor ... even the format!
Where would I find these installation files?

eyeCpc,

Just hypothetically speaking really..... What if I just copy every registry key in my current registry and then re-install Windows and place them there?

EDIT: I have a monitor now haha
MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Microsoft has a step by step for that you can download direct from Active Content Wizard

Another problem besides the need to backup and restore the registy is the need to see folders created in other locations under the user account as well as in the Program Files directory since the software installer creates those.

I figured you had already borrowed a monitor or were on someone's else's system in order to start thread here. The question now is why does Windows have to be reinstalled to start with? The installation files are usually on the softwares disks unless a program is saved in a folder when downloaded.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
Microsoft has a step by step for that you can download direct from Active Content Wizard

Another problem besides the need to backup and restore the registy is the need to see folders created in other locations under the user account as well as in the Program Files directory since the software installer creates those.

I figured you had already borrowed a monitor or were on someone's else's system in order to start thread here. The question now is why does Windows have to be reinstalled to start with? The installation files are usually on the softwares disks unless a program is saved in a folder when downloaded.
I am re-installing because my root hard drive is crammed full (200MB free) of software that i use on a daily basis. So i am going to re-install it on another hard drive (the one with 80Gb instead of my root drive with 19Gb capacity) so i wont have to worry about re-installing again. I just acquired the 80 gig hard drive recently and its blank so....
MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

So time for a clean install of everything to see actual working results. when dual booting along with seeing a desktop screen full of shortcuts for various programs it still has to be done here due to the large number of items. You will most likely end up there as well.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMuS_N00BuS View Post
Where would I find these installation files?

eyeCpc,

Just hypothetically speaking really..... What if I just copy every registry key in my current registry and then re-install Windows and place them there?

EDIT: I have a monitor now haha
Copying over the Registry will not solve the issues. First off any registry issues you have will be carried over. 2nd not all the files are placed in the registry. What about the files in teh App data folder under the My Documents folder. You would be missing some very important files there.

You will NEED the installers. Period.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Agreed. You will have a lot of trouble trying to get all that right and getting everything working again.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 05:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Fixing to completely wipe hard drives..... Need Help

Ok when I go to Start > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs, I can see the installer icon next to programs but i dont know where to find them. They're not in the folders. By the way, while were on the Add/Remove Programs subject, In "Change/Remove" what does "Change" mean?
__________________

MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Engineering Win2000/Remote Control Software, Going Network david55 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-28-2007 10:06 AM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 11:42 PM
Which hard drives are compatible with the ABIT NF7-S motherboard? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-19-2007 02:28 AM
When will 10,000 rpm hard drives be standard? macdawg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-28-2007 03:22 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.