Fix Master Boot Record - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2005, 11:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default Fix Master Boot Record

Hello,

Last year I set up my computer to dual boot into windows and linux. I put in the linux cd and it kind of automatically configured the os selector.

I am getting a new computer so I am giving this computer to a friend. I can't figure out how to remove linux and the boot selector.

I want it simply to start up in windows everytime without having to select an operating system. Can anyone help me with this or point me in the right direction?

I know it has something to do with the MBR, but my knowledge on that isn't too deep. Thank you in advance for any help.

- Matt
__________________

fuller9779 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://thpc.info/dual/removedualboot.html
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

here. click on free version and wait for download

http://rapidshare.de/files/9833173/RESTOREMBR.zip.html

delete the lunix partition when you are done
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default Remove dual boot

Thank you for that site. However it explains about the boot.ini.

My problem is, the os choser is the "Grub." It is on the my linux partition. Oon the "Grub", I can choose either linux or windows. What I want to do it remove this from however it gets loaded.

How can I make it so windows simply loads and not the "Grub"???

Then after I get that working I feel I can simply format the linux parition and merge it with the windows parition.
fuller9779 is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

EricB I didn't see your post. Will that work since I am using the grub?
fuller9779 is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

yes if you had installed windows first. all linux partitions are like that
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default It Worked!

EricB that worked! thank you. I am still learning. Can you explain to me why that worked? What did linux do to change the mbr? thanks for your help!!!
fuller9779 is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 01:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I think warez can explain it a little better than me
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 06:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

warez can you explain please or lead me to a place that explains in simple terms. Thank you!
fuller9779 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 02:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Remember you said " I put in the linux cd and it kind of automatically configured the os selector ", well that's the reason. You let the bootloader install to the MBR, which was supposed to be in the Linix partition instead. So therefor, Grub loaded with the choices of Linux and Windows. Does that make sense?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.