Is a firewall a necessity? if yes, which one do you recomend? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 05:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Firewall on my router and Zone Alarm 6 Pro
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

do you recomend the "Zone Alarm Internet Security Suite"or just the Zone Alarm Pro??
I checked their website....
the Suite consists of:
Triple Defense Firewall™
Anti-Spyware
Antivirus
ID & Privacy Protection
Email Security
Web Content Filtering
Anti-Phishing Protection
Spam Blocker

Have you tried it?? is it any good?? or do I just stick with Zone Alarm Pro??

thanx again
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I use Pro. I dont need the AV. It works great thou
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

what do you recomend me to get? ZonAlarm Pro or Internet Security Suite?

is the zonealarm av better than AVG or Norton or McAfee?


another question...can I do the same with AV or will it messup the computer (have more than one installed)
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I think when you install ZA with AV, it will want you to uninstall your original AV, so thats why I went went Symantec. 2 AVs can mess your system up so be careful. I recommend Pro if you have AV already. Its personal preference on what is better, me, I like Symatec for viruses and Adaware removal tools for spyware etc.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

when you install zone alarm, you will notice it replaces windows sp2 firewall.. So i recommend zone alarm, it works perfectly for the last year or so
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

so basically..the AV is all personal prefernce?? They are all good..?
(lets say between McAfee and Norton...)
They are the same (more or less) and its only a matter of preference????
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You are going to have your people who say this is better than that and that is better than this, much like cars, chevy is better than ford, ford is better than chevy, etc, etc. I personally recommed Symantec Antivirus 10 Corporate Edition. I have never ever had a problem it. I have always had a FW called Zone Alarm and I havent had a virus since I dont know when. Remember Sasser? I didnt get that virus becasue I was behind my software FW, HW FW didnt mean nothing, it got thru as with thousands of other corporate servers around the world. This is why you need HW and software FWs to have a backup. Just as a test, I disabled ZA and no sooner than I get online, I was hit with sasser. If you keep a software FW and hardware FW like your router, a good AV, run regular scans with spyware programs, you will be just fine. Now watch, someone will come on here a go completely against what I said, but thats their preference. You dont see me in the spyware section all the time do you like a lot of people on here are. And if you do happen to get either a virus or adware program, its the users fault for downloading it, installing it, connecting an infected pc to your network and not updating file definitions. If you do get one installed and running, then you might have some work to do. So its basically up to you. McAfee is good, Hotmail uses it to scan their attachment but just because they dont use Symantec, it doesnt mean it isnt good. They just got an agreement with them to scan them, money, money, money. If they ever drop MA, who knows what will take its place.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rawan AbuSalman
Forgot to ask about the Windows Firewall that comes integrated in SP2...is it any good? or is it enough?? or should I install another one?
I've been using that solely for 2 months now and I'm more then satisfied with it. I used to use Zone Alarm Pro but it's become quite bloated IMO and have since stopped using it. XP SP-2's firewall has outperformed many pro firewalls that I have tested. It's small, unobtrusive and does its job quite nicely. I'm wayyyyyyy in the minority here but XP SP-2's firewall is sufficient for most people, that's my choice.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

thanx alot...I think I will get exactly what you have! lol!!

I never thought of this whole AV thing as just "preference"...Anyway, I think im gonna get symantic...

(I was just on the symantic website....God they have a lot of products!! I think I will get Norton AntiVirus 2005...(should be more or less like the one you have but this for home use

btw...I just saw the Norton Internet Security 2005 AntiSpyware Edition..do you think I should get it or it is not important?
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.