firewall. get one - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2006, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 794
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default firewall. get one

i had been using a firewall with spybot and adaware for about 2 years now and no antivirus and got a virus my mistake
so about 2 days ago my firewall ate sh!t and i had to uninstall it but never installed it back and went surfin(dont ask where or why)

but from the time i got to a certain page about 10 seconds passed and i had 2 fully installed "antispyware" programs with about 50 more files randomly spread around my c drive
the spyware was "alpha(somethin)" program
and bunch of others
among that i had my task manager disabled by it and messed up my whole system in general.

so lesson learned for me and a note for everybody else to get some kind of protection.
it wouldnt affect dialup people as much as hi speed tho
but ..even if u not doin any suspicious stuff, get a frikkin firewall or use one that comes with windows xp

spybot is free by the way and theres alot of free firewalls and antiviruses online to choose from

raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

you should setup and configure three functions to keep your microsoft machine secure.

automatic updates

ps. this will not protect you against phishing attacks

office politics is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 794
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m

antivirus autoprotect lags the pc worse than spyware
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Antivir Personal Edition is pretty light on resources.
also, you could try an alternate web browser. I use Firefox, a lot of people like Opera too.
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

I use the hardware firewall built into my router, I keep all software firewalls disabled. I use Nod32 antivirus, and firefox. I've never had a problem.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48

I have found that the best Anti-Virus program is absolutely FREE!
Go to and download their free version os AVG. Make sure you enable "automatic updates". This one is so awesome that I have donated $20.00 to their cause.

figero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.