Firewall/Antivirus Software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2003, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default Firewall/Antivirus Software

I am running mcaffe antivirus 7.0 and mcafee guardian. Does doing so significantly slow down performance? It seems to...perhaps a recommendation for better software? (other than norton 2004)
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-14-2003, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26
Default

I like symantec corporate I think its the best
__________________

cowticket is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 06:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I use Zone Alarm and AntivirXP on a 500MHZ system and IMO it only has slight degrade in performance

zone alarm: www.zone-labs.com
antivirXP: www.free-av.com

i like antivirXP because it is a really fast scanner

scan with Norton: 8 hours
scan with AntivirXP: 15 mins
- both scans were with the whole hard drive

edit: with the first scan of AntivirXP it found 28 viruses, with norton's scan 1 week earlier it found none
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
Default

First if you have a good antivirus most people dont really need the fire wall, try AVG antivirus (www.grisoft.com) free edition for home and personal use.
I have 3 cds of antivirus programs and I use AVG.
I like it so much I bought their pro version, which was a lot less then the others.
dr.dos is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no you definately need a firewall whether it is a sofware or hardware like a router. every time i put myself on the DMZ or plug straight to the modem i am infected with a virus within 5 minutes. no anti-virus in the world can take that kind of a beating constantly.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
Default

A firewall will only alert you to an outgoing connection.
if a virus/trojan tries to make such a connection you have already been infected. a good antivirus is there to prevent the infection in the first place.
dr.dos is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 12:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

eh ok.. its basic common sense that EVERYONE needs a firewall (software or hardware) and a antivirus app running in the background. software firewalls do block outgoing as well as incoming packets.

for software firewalls i've always used mcafee or zonealarm. however for antivirus apps, i will say if you have a slower machine avg is probably the smartest choice.
__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dr.dos
A firewall will only alert you to an outgoing connection.
if a virus/trojan tries to make such a connection you have already been infected. a good antivirus is there to prevent the infection in the first place.
dr.dos from your comments it is obvious to me you do not know anything about firewalls or anti-virus.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dr.dos
A firewall will only alert you to an outgoing connection.
if a virus/trojan tries to make such a connection you have already been infected. a good antivirus is there to prevent the infection in the first place.
Sorry, I know it's a little overkill but....
Opinions in forums are one thing, but totally incorrect information is another. I don't know of any firewall out there (software or hardware) that, by default, will only "alert" you of an outgoing connection. If there is one then...well....it's not a good firewall. Some firewalls will protect from both incoming and outgoing and some will only protect from incoming. And to go a little further, not all anti-virus software detects back-door trojans.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
Default

I stand corrected... ouch...
I must be doing something wrong as I dont have a firewall
only antivirus.
anyway I'll keep reading here and try to learn.
And yes it was only my opinion.
Without a difference of opinion, we might as well be automatons.
maybe others will learn by my mistake by reading these posts.
__________________

dr.dos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.