FireWall?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default FireWall??

can somebody tell me what is firewall

should i download one?? which ones are best?
__________________

4uvak is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

In computing, a firewall is a piece of hardware and/or software which functions in a networked environment to prevent some communications forbidden by the security policy, analogous to the function of firewalls in building construction. A firewall is also called a Border Protection Device (BPD), especially in NATO contexts, or packet filter in BSD contexts.

A firewall has the basic task of controlling traffic between different zones of trust. Typical zones of trust include the Internet (a zone with no trust) and an internal network (a zone with high trust). The ultimate goal is to provide controlled connectivity between zones of differing trust levels through the enforcement of a security policy and connectivity model based on the least privilege principle.

Proper configuration of firewalls demands skill from the administrator. It requires considerable understanding of network protocols, and of computer security. Small mistakes can render a firewall worthless as a security tool.



Hardware firewalls -- Cisco, Linksys
Software Firewalls -- Zone Alarm Pro 6, Sygate
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

do i need one if i just surf the net
4uvak is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

its up to you. I use my linksys firewall; thats it.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Router -- Hardware firewalls -- Cisco, Linksys
Your Ethernet Port may also have built in Hardware firewalls
I use the Nvidia Firewall which came with my parts when I built it and it's suprisingly good but I do recommend Sygate for a free downloadable firewall.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I would use a software and hardware firewall. most people can't figure out how to properly configure a hardware one
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Dont get confused about the responses your getting. YES you need a firewall if you are going to use your computer over the internet. If you are running windows XP you can upgrade to service pack 2 and go to START/CONTROL PANEL/SERCURITY CENTER to make sure it is turned on.

If you dont have windows XP go to Sygate.com and get your firewall from them, It is free and does just as good as any firewall out there or even better.
pandahater is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pandahater
Dont get confused about the responses your getting. YES you need a firewall if you are going to use your computer over the internet. If you are running windows XP you can upgrade to service pack 2 and go to START/CONTROL PANEL/SERCURITY CENTER to make sure it is turned on.

If you dont have windows XP go to Sygate.com and get your firewall from them, It is free and does just as good as any firewall out there or even better.
xp firewall is ok. but it doesn't block out bound connections, only inbound
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.