Firewall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2003, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default Firewall

I am migrating to a HS Cable connection tomorrow and was wondering if a firewall is needed or does XP provide built in protection. Am a little long in the tooth and Technologically challenged at present. So any and all advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Coldhand is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1

hmm well i know my xp pro hase a built in firewall but u have 2 activate it, but personally i dont really trust it all that much i have Norten firewall it only cost me like 30 ish and its doing a good job but 2 activate the built in xp firewall u have to......

control panel>network internet connections>network connections>Right click on the icon, click properties>go to the advanced tab and click the checkbox{it sais sumthen like "Protect my computer and internet by limiting or preventing acces to the internet"}

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 03-21-2003, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

Dont use the XP firewall. It will do nothing but cause you headaches. I dont really even use one much, except when testing out new microsoft apps.

Truth is, if a hacker wants in your system that bad, he will get in. Firewall or not.
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-21-2003, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338

I agree Ecniv...if a hacker wants in on my system, he's going to find a way.

But it's not the hackers that I'm trying to keep out...

it's the ScriptKiddies!

there are two simple solutions for basic computer security. you can purchase a hardware solution, where the firewall is built into the router/modem. This method is simple and easy to maintain. Your other solution is in software, such as ZoneAlarm or Tiny Personal Firewall. These programs are very functional but require a bit more work to set up.

I would not recommend the firewall that comes built in to XP. It does a really good job of monitoring incoming traffic, but it doesn't make par with outgoing traffic. So if that virus/trojan comes in through, say, email then it can open up ports for someone to come in on its own.
Seloce is offline  
Old 03-21-2003, 05:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1

ya, well personally i just keep my firewall on so all those ppl doing random port scans cant find any open ports but ya i agrea the built in firewall in xp was annoying.
A_Zip1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.