FireWall-1 Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2002, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default FireWall-1 Error

I am working with Windows XP OS and Office XP.
I installed a VPN (SecuRemote). I received an error that the installation did not complete. I proceeded to run the setup.exe again, only to get the following error:
"Setup has found that Fire Wall-1 is installed on this computer. Please uninstall it before installing SecuRemote."

I uninstalled the VPN from the Control Panel, I deleted the folders it created in my Program Files.

I ran the setup.exe again, and I am still getting the same error.
There must be a file somewhere that I need to get rid of, but I don't know where it could be hiding.

Can anybody help?

witchblade is offline  
Old 03-28-2003, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default I have the exactly the same problem

I saw you had or still have the problem.

I have exactly the same problem.
I removed also everything from the registry concerning FireWall-1 en Securemote etc.|
It didn't work.
I still get the same error message that I have to uninstall FireWall-1 before installing Securemote.


Do you have already the answer ?

Kind regards !


winterw is offline  
Old 03-28-2003, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Unhappy FireWall-1 error

At first I removed Securemote by the the Add/Remove program option. After two days I wanted to install it again but I got the FireWall-1 Error message and was not able anymore to install Securemote again. After I checked the registry and deleted a key that has a relation with Firewall-1.
Up to now I'm still unable to install Securemote again.

Reinstalling XP from scratch is the far and far last option I will use because of the applications I need to use at this moment.
This is a weird error.

I scanned through the registry with many different search strings that might have a relation with Securemote or Checkpoint or Firewall-1 or firewall etc. .

Kind regards.
winterw is offline  
Old 03-28-2003, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6

First I uninstalled the program through my control panel.
I deleted any directory folders on my hard drive relating to the VPN or Firewall.
The Registry kept a folder called "FW1" (Fire Wall 1) with a key in it. After I deleted it I was able to reinstall.

If that doesn't work, check these threads:
witchblade is offline  
Old 03-30-2003, 02:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Thumbs up FireWall-1 Error

The FW1 folders were indeed the cause of the problem.
I deleted them and I am able again to install Securemote.

Thank you very much !!
winterw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.