firefox and stopzilla - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default firefox and stopzilla

I switched over to firefox from ie and i cant seem to get stopzilla to block popups like it used to in ie. I had sz ask me before a new window opened, even if i clicked on the link to make that window open. I liked how that worked and am wondering how I go about making it work like this with firefox.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i just use zone alarm to stop all my pop ups.....never have a single one....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Search the Mozilla site for pop-up blocker extensions, and see if one of them has the option. Or get another browser
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 287
Default

Firefox does have pop-up blocker built in, just turn it on.
__________________
\"Today\'s scientists have substituted mathematics for experiments, and they wander off through equation after equation, and eventually build a structure which has no relation to reality.\" Nikola Tesla
gab00n is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Is there pop up blocker quality? I like stopzilla a lot. Is there's similar?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to graffitirebel
Default

yes, Firefox does block pop-ups.
go to Tools > Options, then click Web Features on the left side and check the box that says block popups.
From then on, when a site tries to open a popup, a small bar will appear at the top of the page telling you that Firefox has blocked it, you can click it for more options - such as allowing it to open.
graffitirebel is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I have the box checked, but when i click on a link in tf a window pops up with out that box poping up telling me its blocked.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

i thought it was on by default?

i think firefox has a great popup blocker feature.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

It was on by default. But it does not work with all windows. Maybe i am expecting it to work like stopzilla does. Any ideas?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 10:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to graffitirebel
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
I have the box checked, but when i click on a link in tf a window pops up with out that box poping up telling me its blocked.
"tf" ??

it sounds like you are talking about not being able to get tabs to work.... to get new tabs to open when you click them, go into the options and make sure you have configured tabbed browsing.

otherwise, if you're still getting popups, check which sites you have allowed popups from. maybe you allowed popups from that site, so now, its not going to ask you - it will just open it
__________________

graffitirebel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.