Firefox Runs Slower Than IE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2005, 02:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default Firefox Runs Slower Than IE

Hey everyone, i just thought I'd try Firefox as my browser and I've noticed that it seems to download everything slower than when i do it in Internet Explorer. Does anyone know why this is. It doesnt matter if im downloading a page or a file it seems to take about twice as long as in IE. Please somebody help

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Reinstall it, thats all I can think of. also you prolly have alot of spyware cause of IE anyways, so dl some spyware programs like adware SE personnel and spybot and run them ur computer will be happy.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks for the fast reply. Ive tried reinstalling and that does nothing. And i dont have any spyware (complete reinstall last night) or at least none that im aware of. I have scaned with Adaware, Microsoft ANti Spyware and spyware doctor and also doen a virus scan and i cant think off what else i can do becuase i realy want to get of internet explorer but if FIrefox is going to be slower i guess ill have to stay
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 03:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Try this here it's a hack to make fire fox run faster
Shumway is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

As much as I like Firefox and Opera, a lot of time I find myself going back to IE. IE is the only browser that will run Launchcast first of all. And I find the same thing, IE seems to go faster and smoother than other browers.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 164
Default

yup me found the same.. but firefox is nicer to use.
__________________
Skuzzle - Powered by Badgerbyte Web & IT Services
www.drive4fun.co.uk check it out
Skuzzle is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 09:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 68
Default

One thing to note is that IE will load faster because the bulk of it's dependancies are loaded at startup as part of the operating system.
__________________
Talk is based on the assumption that you can get somewhere if you keep putting one word after another
Deathwalker is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Also note that IE has Active X controls which is the bulk of spyware\virus problems found on certain sites. Firefox doesnt use Active X that is why it is tougher to get spyware with Firefox.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to code28
Default

I tried FireFox and liked it for the most part, but found many pages online didn't display the way they should (and did using IE). After a little research, it turns out the the script and coding rules for viewing pages thru IE are very dynamic whereas FireFox has set rules for the viewing scripts and the way the code of the particular site is written and when it doesn't match up, the display and layout is thrown off in FireFox.

Obviously the more popular that FireFox and other 3rd party browsers become, the more online websites will need to conform their scripts for proper display so perhaps I'll get FireFox again down the road but for now I'm sticking with MyIE2 here which uses the tab feature that everyone loves about FireFox.

Speed seems to be comparable to FireFox too from what I can tell.
__________________

__________________

Windows XP Pro (SP2) | Intel P4 3.4GHz | HT | 20" UltraSharp LCD 2007FP
3GB DDR2 (533 MHz) | 256MB ATi Radeon x800 PCI-E | Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech G5
Creative Inspire 5.1 5300 | EluminX S202-12 | Saitek x45 Flight Control System


http://www.userbars.net/userbars/computers/dell.png
code28 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.