Firefox deleted favorites and themes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2005, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Firefox deleted favorites and themes

My PC rebooted by itself today, no error, just clicked and the screen went blank for a second and it booted up again.

Odd thing is, that Forefox acts like a newly installed program now. My favorites are wiped out, my themes are gone, it also prompted me to setup my ForecastFox plugin like that was just installed as well.

I looked in the directory, and could not find the favorites folder. I went to C>Program files>Mozilla Firefox and I don't see anyting related to favorites.

What could have happened? Is there any way to find the lost favorites? I will run the usual spyware and virus checks, but I did those just yesterday and all was well.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Your Files are stored in a different location. They are buried deep in your system. Check C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\Local Settings\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles. They should be in there somewhere. I think you can import the settings back into Firefox. It should be under file>import. Not sure on that but you can try it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

something else that only happens in firefox now, everthing inside the main internet window is jumping. all my programs are fine, playing videos are fine, video card is fine. but when i open forefox now, the websites graphics are going up and down a few milimeters at a rate of about two times per second.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i don't have a local settings folder in the username folder
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

I would uninstall firefox and delete it from the registry, and then reinstall.
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Are you using the new ff beta ?
I had to uninstall/reinstall a couple of times already with this beta.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i may have to try that. i tried an update, didn't work. i'm on IE now doing an online scan with panda.

i would like to know what happened so i can keep it from happening again in the future, but i got no error, weird.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i'm using the latest stable version. no beta.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

hmmm Did anything else "settings" wise change ? ex: Desktop appearance ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

nothing on my computer but firefox. i opened up a few programs just to check that their settings were intact. desktop is how i left it, all my custom icons haven't defaulted or anything.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.