Firefox 1.0 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2004, 02:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default

A data miner will not corrupt the registry. Although data miners are very clearly associated with adware/spyware some other programs do use them. If you are downloading something that you trust and know let it download and install and then scan it immidiately after. If you use this approach you should always be fine. I have never had a problem in which I couldn't catch it right away.
__________________

__________________
-Pentium IV 2.6C w/Hyper Threading Technology
-1GB DDR PC3200 RAM
-Radeon 9800 XT
-120GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD
-52x 48x 52x Sony CD Rom Drive
-16x DVD R/RW Drive
-Windows XP Professional
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
-Intel i875 800MHZ FSB motherboard
-1.44 MB Floppy Drive
-Thermaltake Pro case
Jonesie is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
Adblock is a plug-in for Firefox. You can download this small file at https://update.mozilla.org/extension...&id=10&vid=664 .

-Dan The Man
I trying that but it doesn't work
I installed and rebooted then it pop up again
__________________

Labtech is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jonesie
A data miner will not corrupt the registry. Although data miners are very clearly associated with adware/spyware some other programs do use them. If you are downloading something that you trust and know let it download and install and then scan it immidiately after. If you use this approach you should always be fine. I have never had a problem in which I couldn't catch it right away.
Yeah I know. I'm saying my ad watch tool which monitors the registry when an entry tries to enter itself caught this miner. Corrupt may have been a poor choice of words, but still, the point is, it did not function properly without it. I do not wish to use software which relies on these methods.
I deal with people all day long with system issues and I have removed literally hundreds of thousands of registry keys and files and whatnot when it pertains to spyware or virus programs.
That's why I have no tolerance for it on my pc.
sunsider is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

FireFox is opensource, so its easier to find holes.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Labtech
I trying that but it doesn't work
I installed and rebooted then it pop up again
it stupid the way they implemented it, but it works.
it show you all blockable item on the page. you can only pick one at a time and you have to pick ok each time you pick one
EricB is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

I still don't understand how to get rid of it.
__________________

Labtech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.