Firefox 1.0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default Firefox 1.0

I recently kept getting a security alert pop up once every 30minutes .
It said:

Security Alert (Headlines)

"The internet site you are about to view uses a certificate that has expired or not yet valid. Do you want to proceed?".

I have "yes" , "no" and "view "certifications"

If i click on Certifications info inside is

Issued to web-g-kontiti.com

Issued by verisign.com/CPS incorp.by ref

It has install certifications button and Issuer statement button.

--------------------------------------------------
I click no everytime but it kept popping up after while even when i am not surfing or have my browser open up.
__________________

Labtech is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

OOO Konitki is spy/adware. That is bad stuff brotha. Just don't accept them or whatever doesn't allow them to function. Or don't go to that site.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

but it kept popping up?

How do i get rid of it?
Labtech is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

down the adblock extension for firefox
EricB is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I had a similar problem that was caused by my system time/date being incorrect, therefore making the certificates on secure sites invalid. Modifying your clock settings may or may not help. Lazerman is probably right though about the whole ad-ware thing.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
down the adblock extension for firefox
Adblock is a plug-in for Firefox. You can download this small file at https://update.mozilla.org/extension...&id=10&vid=664 .

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 01:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

hmm. firefox. I went to load it about a week ago and havent really used it til today. went to my work site to monitor tax forms and such and it asked me to load a java plugin. fine. so i do and then during the install, my ad aware adwatch tool(monitors the registry) pops up and says that it is trying to write a data miner value to my registry.
yeah. easy to fix. deleted firefox, gonna take the majors advice and try opera now.
sunsider is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 03:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Good idea
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 10:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sunsider
hmm. firefox. I went to load it about a week ago and havent really used it til today. went to my work site to monitor tax forms and such and it asked me to load a java plugin. fine. so i do and then during the install, my ad aware adwatch tool(monitors the registry) pops up and says that it is trying to write a data miner value to my registry.
yeah. easy to fix. deleted firefox, gonna take the majors advice and try opera now.
if that is your response to working in the computer world, you might want to give up computing. the more popular a browser get, the more people will try to figure a code to attack it. if opera become as popular as firefox, people will figure out a way to get into it.

adblock would have solve your problem in firefox. due to the recent popularity of firefox, people are wanting to figure out ways to get into it.

people didn't get this mad, when IE had more holes than swiss cheese. at least firefox didn't let the software install itself, like IE would have
EricB is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

I understand why it happens. What I don't get is why the java plugin, from sun microsystems, needs to use data miners.
As far as giving up computing, it's how I make my living and I have low tolerance for any software that decides it needs to inflict my system with crap. I was able to block the miner from loading, that was easy. The problems came after I blocked it when the plugin would not work properly.
Therefore, I uninstalled the program. Re-installed it, and allowed the data miner into my registry. And suprise suprise, it worked properly now. Hmm, so let them corrupt my registry to use their software or not. Tough question.
__________________

sunsider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.