Firedaemon.exe?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2006, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default Firedaemon.exe??

for some reason, when i boot up my computer, it comes up with with one of the windows wanting to send microsoft an error report saying that "Firedaemon.exe" failed to initialise... is this a big problem? and can i fix it? using windows XP pro with P4 2.8 processor and a gig of ram... any info would be great, cheers.
__________________

weewun is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

google can help you:

http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=...emon.exe&meta=
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

if you never installed firedaemon , then your pc was probably compromised. while firedameon can be used for legitmate reasons it can also be used by hackers to run spyware/xdcc bots on startup , see this article for an example
http://www.ncsu.edu/itd/security/papers/EduHacking.html

if indid you never installed firedaemon then get hijackthis
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html
click "do a system scan and save a logfile" then open a new thread at this section http://www.techist.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=126 and copy & paste the log , however if you did install firedaemon yourself then goto start-->run-->msconfig-->services tick "hide all microsoft services" and youll probably see it untick it and apply
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default

ok... i disables firedaemon.exe but will still post a hijackthis thing just incase, and because i think i stumbled across another virus (or possibly the saem one) while running "spyware doctor" i ralised it was taking a very long time looking in c:\uploads so i checked it out. there was no folder called uploads appeariong in the C drive (with show hidden folders on) so i put it into the address bar, and found 17000 .zip files there. i am currently deleting them now (it's taking a while). will the hijack this be able to detect the virus causing this?
weewun is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

hijackthis is not an antivirus or anti trojan , however it generates a list of startup items , running processes , bho's (internet explorer addons) its for expert use so dont remove anything if you dont know what it is this is why you post your log on the forum
so an expert (like myself) will overview it and from the data provided in the log determine if your pc is infected with spyware/worms and then instructs you on what you should do to clean the infection
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default

ok... just posted at the link above... cheers for all the help XD
__________________

weewun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.