finding site. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2002, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default finding site.

i have 2 sites that i regularly visit and the last 2 days cant get in them. it just says finding site. like im not logged on, and then it goes to the white page that says this page cannot be displayed . bla bla bla... like i said this has been going on for 2 days and i know its not there problem cause i know alot of other ppl visiting there and have no problems getting in. any advise??
__________________

sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

Check your encryption level, some sites reqire 128 bit encryption and your browser may not be supporting it, they may have upgraded the site and the other people that you know are already at 128 bit.
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

ok i checked that and it says im at 128 , someone also my cache may be full, how would i check this? i have emptyed temp internet files and cookies and history.is cache something different and can i mess something up deleteing it
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

I would just go through your IE options and reset everything to default. Delete temp files, reset security level to default level, and under advanced, reset defaults.

If it still isnt working, download another browser and try that, to narrow the problem down. I would suggest Opera.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

where is IE options?
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

ok i found the IE options , and no good, also tryed different browser netscape , same thing so what do u think this narrows it to?
sofraven is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Are you at home or work? Do you have a router or firewall?
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

very strange i can all of the sudden get into both sites that i was having problems with! dont know why but thought i would let u all know
sofraven is offline  
Old 12-05-2002, 03:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Hey, thats good to hear, gotta love how stuff works out like that!

Happens to me alot, right when your about to give up, it fixes itself.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-05-2002, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 157
Default

yea i know that my isp was making upgrades and making in so u dont have to log on to connect with the internet and i wonder if that has anything to do with it? also this is a dsl service and there upgrade is that i no longer have to log on to serf. as soon as i turn on the pc im on line. my question is does this change anything, like can they see everything u do even more or am i parinoid?
__________________

sofraven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.