filters - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2003, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Angry filters

Does anyone know how to get past a filter? I know that you can access the internet without logging onto the network but that only worked in bypassing the filter for a few days. I just need to know because the only site I can go to are .gov and .mil site and a very "mi nute" amount of other sites. basically no .com/.edu/.org sites.
__________________

chart47 is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

You are connecting through a government network? Fat chance there on getting through the firewall. Only thing you can really try is to see if you can get to a site like www.megaproxy.com If you can get there you should be able to bring everything else up.


There are ways of setting up a proxy for yourself, but if you are at work, it would probably cost your job.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Default

Chances are pretty slim that it would cost my job since I really can't loose my job. The only reason the blocks are on is because of recent happenings around the world. Besides they couldn't catch me because one I wouldn't be logged on. The computer I would be using is a public or at least the company laptop. So unfortunately we aren't aloud to send out emails at all I can't talk to my family on the other side of the world... I know a lot but in certain areas my knowledge is still lacking. Any help would be nice.
chart47 is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Default

p.s
Yes it's a givernnment site and any kind of "proxy avoidance" sites have been filtered. The reason I say I can't loose my job is because I'm enlisted. They'll do nothing because my commander has been trying to get me to bypass the filter anyway. Like I said I was able to for about 2-3 days but after that I couldn't anymore. Tell you the truth they're setup isn't the greatest anyway.
chart47 is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Well, unfortunatly this is all I can help you with:

The only free proxies you couild use are listed here, so if you can get to any of them, they will work: http://directory.google.com/Top/Comp.../Proxies/Free/

If not your probably out of luck, setting up a personal proxy isnt that hard, but it would require you having a computer that is on the internet outside of your network. Like a home PC on a cable or DSL connection.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Default

I appreciate it. I should be able to work with it. The outside sorce may be hard but I should be able to work with it. Unfortunately nearly everything is block so search pages are as well. Google I can't access. Within the next 4 days they told us they'de give us that back. Once that happens I'll check that out. Thanks Ecniv
__________________

chart47 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.