files lost association with program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default files lost association with program

Hello
I have these files which lost association with their programs, they originally were word files, still open up in word. funny thing is that most of the other word files still show their association to word.


why has this happened, and is there any way i can restore the association?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Which OS are you using? There are steps you can take in the registry that will restore your file associations but how you do it will be determined in part by your OS.
__________________

DJ_Cyber is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to M@$t3r_N30
Default

Find one of the files that lost association... Right click > Properties> Opens With: Change> find the exe of word and click OK. This is for XP but should be similar for other OSes.
__________________
<a href="http://techbycolin.com">Tech by Colin</a>
<a href="http://linux.techbycolin.com">Home Webserver</a>
M@$t3r_N30 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i am using windows xp
funny thing is that when i click on the files which dont have the association, they open up in word, however they dont have the rod icon, instead they have that white blank icon
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to M@$t3r_N30
Default

Sounds like you have misplaced your icons somehow. If they open up in Word, you don't have to worry about it, unless you want it to look right.
__________________
<a href="http://techbycolin.com">Tech by Colin</a>
<a href="http://linux.techbycolin.com">Home Webserver</a>
M@$t3r_N30 is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

now my MS Office is playing up
whenever i try to open an MS office application(word or excel)

i get this windows installer followed by something like microsoft xp trying to instal litself, this ends with me getting this dialog box

"microsoft office xp professional with frontpage"

and then i hit cancel and one more cancel at the next dialog box and i end up with mirosoft word opened up.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.