File transfer question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 01:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

the easist way to attach the files from the mail.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nuke
the easist way to attach the files from the mail.
lol he said he had around 6g that'd be practically impossible to do over email-well not impossible but it would take a long time
__________________

Death Row is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Or if you're uncomfortable with this stuff, and you have a broadband connection, for $9.95 a month you can get 10 gigs of storage online. Upload from one machine, dowload to another. You can actually get a free account with 10 gigs also, but you can only download 100MB per month.

The website is www.streamload.com
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 03:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

That may work also. I will have to research file transfer a little more and see if anyone would give me some step by step instructions. That would take up their time though so that is a lot to ask.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 03:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

The cheapest and easiest way would be to go get a cross over cable. YOu wouldn't even have to get a big one because your computers are probably pretty close. Probabloy would only cost like $3 plug each end into each machine. Check each computers work group, you can do that by opening the properties for "My Computer" Make them the same, and then map a new network drive from the tools menu in "My Computer"

Hope that helps a little
Jagged Age is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 03:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

My biggest concern is WHAT to backup? What does everyone backup. The MAIN things besides what I just said I was going to back up. I just don't want to forget anything.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 05:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jagged Age
The cheapest and easiest way would be to go get a cross over cable. YOu wouldn't even have to get a big one because your computers are probably pretty close. Probabloy would only cost like $3 plug each end into each machine. Check each computers work group, you can do that by opening the properties for "My Computer" Make them the same, and then map a new network drive from the tools menu in "My Computer"

Hope that helps a little
I got ignored when I suggested that
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 07:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

Are you referring to me. I didn't mean to. I am looking into maybe doing that.

When you said map a new network drive from the tools menu in "My Computer"

How would I do that??
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 07:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

make sure your workgroup has the same name on both computers. on xp home it is mshome. on xp pro, it is workgroup. I personally give it a name that I want. right click my computer select properties.

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

Yes, I understand that part it's the part where you say map a new network drive from the tools menu in my computer that I don't get.
__________________

ingeborgdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.