File Sharing problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2005, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default File Sharing problems

Please Help!

This is what i've got: 3 Systems running Windows XP Pro w/SP2. I can share folders and see them on the other computers. I can copy, move, delete and create new files throughout the networked computers onto others. However, i cannot run any executable files through the shared folders.

I am currently using Simple File Sharing - i would turn it off, its just that the last time i did that, i had waaaay to many problems for some reason.

Please Help!

htcs is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188

Oh and to add... i can neither copy nor move these files from another computer to the one i want to run it on.

htcs is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35

You need to "Map Network Drive". To do this go into your network using Windows Explorer and right click on a folder that you want to share on one of the other systems on the network. Choose "map network drive". This will add a drive letter to your system and allow you to execute programs, files and access documents on computer "B" while you are on computer "A" as an example. You will have to do this on each system for the folders you want unconditional access to.

I do this my self with music files....I keep them on one of my 4 home systems but can play them over the network from any of the computers. All I did was "mapped" my MP3 folder from computer "A" on computer "B", "C" and "D". All I need to do then is open my music program and hit play.

To execute a remote program (under most circumstances for all you critics out there) Windows needs to think that the program is actually on the computer you are using. This is why you "Map" the folder or drive of another computer on your the computer you are using thinks the program is on it's hard drive.

Hope this helps and solves your problem.
DJ_Cyber is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188

Thanks. Will try it.
htcs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.