File Manager - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2005, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default File Manager

I've recently deleted some programs from Program Files, My start menu and my desktop. Now everytime I move a file to another folder, right click on certain items or even sometimes just open certain programs, windows installer comes up and tells me windows is configuring File Manager. Any ideas what I may have deleted that I shouldn't have? Thanks in advance.
__________________

Si121 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

what applications did you delete ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

To be honest. I couldn't tell you. Not a lot of help. I'm pretty sure I only deleted things I knew, but perhaps I got a little over eagar. Anyone got any idea where perhaps I could download the file manager again? If possible.
Si121 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

This is really starting to annoy me now. It happens every single time I move a file to another folder, go to webpage I haven't been to for a while or even if I just open my internet history. Has anyone...anyone at all got any idea of how I could stop this?
Si121 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Sounds like you deleted something windows needs, or something a program you deleted made windows think it needs. Back up all files you want/need. Then try doing a regestry clean, there are numerous programs out there to do it (I have never done one myself), there is a list containging a few stickied at the top of this forum. If that doesn't work, then make sure you have backups (again ), insert the windows install disk, and reboot. Then go through all the windows installer boot up garbage, and when it asks you, tell it to "repair" windows. I would think this would replave whatever system component you may have killed. I suggest you have another computer with net acsess on hand if you run into problems (again I haven't done this, so I cant help you ). And look up info on it beforehand too, just to get a feel for it. If that doesn't sound like soemthign you want to do, then reformat, after backing up EVERTHING and ensuring you won't nedd the comp for about a day.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

But but...I'm a lazy git and don't want to have to reinstall things again. The repairing idea sounds good. All I need now is my Windows install disk. :S
__________________

Si121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.