File Corrupts Performance??? HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2003, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Angry File Corrupts Performance??? HELP!

I have an MPEG file, around 700 mb, and it used to run fine. But now, I try to delete it or move it to another folder and it tells me that it is in use by another program. I made sure that no unsual processes are running, and also closed ALL programs. Furthermore, whenever I attempt to open, or even just singleclick the file, my CPU usage jumps to 100%, and everything is extremely slow. I mean, its not TOO big of a deal, as I am thinking about jsut hiding it and ignoring it, as it causes no harm until it is previewed or launched, however it is EXTREMELY annoying to me knowing that my 200 gigs are not completely accessable...lol

Please Help me!
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 04:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

I spent about half an our finding a .reg file that apparently fixes the prob as I had this problem myself before.

Its a common problem with XP systems. Basically it tries to read all its info as soon as you click on it and being 700MB it takes quite along time.

Things to try:
1 - Delet in Safe-Mode
2 - Delete the folder the file is in
3 - Delete using command prompt
4 - Browse/delete using a prog other than explorer. (Use your MPEG player to "Open" and browse for the file and press delete instead of actually opening it"
5 - Look for the reg patch I had before I formatted along time ago and forgot to back it up :$
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

I was able to delete the file through the command prompt, but only after ending the explorer process. Which brings me to my next question, is there a way to reboot in msdos prompt? Like in windows 98/95
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 03:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

BTW thanks royalw
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-18-2003, 02:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Yes you can.
Just tap F8 (say 3 times a second) when you start your PC till a boot menu comes up.
Choose "Safe mode with command prompt"

Note: Tapping F8 will access Windows boot menu on any version of Windows

(PS: Still didnt find that reg file lol)
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

after closing explorer you can usually hit Crtl + alt + del and bring up the task manager click the first drop down menu I think its file and choose start process just type "Explorer.exe" and it should restart explorer.
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.