file corrupt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2006, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default file corrupt

hey guys, i just happened to encounter this ****ty error again.. first off, this comp have been working for a long long time, just when i changed the cd drive because the old one was broken. then this popped, Windows\System32\Config\System corrupt, then when i tried to fix by putting my windows home edition cd in, it was stuck at loading kernell debugger dll etc etc.. i wonder what happens here..

thanks
__________________

spkenn5 is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 07:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

have you tried seeing if it works with the old drive back in? if not make sure the jumpers are set properly.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

im goin to try to take out the new drive out.. i wonder if thats the problem..

but how could that be a problem? hmm
spkenn5 is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

that very well could be the problem this actually happened to my friends sisters computer when we put a new card in. try that and if it still does it boot to the os cd with the old card in and go to the recovery console and run chkdsk /r
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: file corrupt

Quote:
Originally posted by spkenn5
hey guys, i just happened to encounter this ****ty error again.. first off, this comp have been working for a long long time, just when i changed the cd drive because the old one was broken. then this popped, Windows\System32\Config\System corrupt, then when i tried to fix by putting my windows home edition cd in, it was stuck at loading kernell debugger dll etc etc.. i wonder what happens here..

thanks
You should have wrongly set Slave as Master for your new CD Drive.
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: Re: file corrupt

Or you should have wrongly set Master as Slave for your new CD Drive if you have only one I/O drive
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.