File Compression - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2004, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default File Compression

I'm trying to archive a large file, > 4.0GB.
I tried compressing it with Winzip trial version, but the error stated the file was too large.
Is this a function of the trial version?
Can any file compression utility do this?
In short, I'm not sure of how to compress/archive this file.
ANY input will be appreciated.
Thank you for your time.

camtap is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 07:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715

Try winace. It's a free application that can do a lot more than WinZip. Try compressing it into a .zip or better yet, a .ace file. (better compression).


mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Thumbs up

i have found in the past that rar compresses far more than zip. you might want to give that format a try.
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>

chrönik04 is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2

The file is a video file, actually a folder with all the files needed to author a video, then burn it. I'm new to the video scene, so I'm sure there is probably a more efficient way to accomplish the same thing.
......thanks to the repliers....
camtap is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872

I agree with Micro . .. I still think that Winrar is by far the best compression software ........

N' dude .. compreesing a video file will not give u much of compression in any case

As far as ur winzip goes .. see if u have enough free space on ur drive .. 'coz it first creates the file in the temp directory n' then copies it to the location where it needs to be saved.
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.